Important Information for Passover

During Passover [April 23 – 29, 2016], please do not bring these foods, which are not kosher for Passover, into Temple Emanu-El:

  • Beans
  • Bread
  • Cookies
  • Corn and corn products (corn starch, corn syrup, etc.)
  • Crackers
  • Flour
  • Grain products made from barley, rye, oats, wheat, or spelt
  • Licorice
  • Mustard
  • Pasta
  • Peanuts, peanut butter
  • Peas
  • Popcorn
  • Poppy seeds
  • Rice and rice products (rice cakes, etc.)
  • Sesame seeds or tahini
  • Soy and soy products (veggie burgers, soymilk, etc.)
  • String beans
  • Sunflower seeds
  • Tofu (which is made from soy beans)
  • Wheat and wheat products

Passover Meal Suggestions

  • Matzah with: Tuna, egg salad, cream cheese, jelly, butter, slices of cheese, matzah pizza, etc. *Please be certain that the Matzah is made specifically for Passover.*
  • Fruits (fresh or dried)
  • All dairy (cheese, milk, sour cream, cream cheese)
  • Vegetables (except legumes, corn, peas, string beans)
  • Eggs
  • Yogurt (if no corn syrup in ingredients)
  • Potatoes (both white and sweet)
  • Charoset (apples, honey, Kosher grape juice mixed together)
  • Fish (salmon, tuna, gefilte)
  • Quinoa

As is customary for our community, please do not bring any non-kosher meat, pork, or shellfish into the building.

Upcoming Events

May
6

May.06.2016 5:30pm - 6:15pm

May
6

May.06.2016 6:15pm - 7:15pm

May
13

May.13.2016 9:30pm - 10:30pm

Jun
3

Jun.03.2016 5:30pm - 6:15pm

Jul
1

Jul.01.2016 5:30pm - 6:15pm

Passover

The History and Origins of Passover

in Passover
*The History and Origins of PassoverPesach, known as Passover in English, is a major Jewish spring festival, commemorating the Exodus from Egypt over 3,000 years ago.The ritual observance of this holiday centers around a special home service called the seder…